Immigration into US

Options for US immigration explored and explained

Immigration into US

Category: Executive Order

New Travel Ban announced, 4 countries added, 2 removed

The Trump administration today announced new list of countries restricted under the travel ban. This is the third version of the controversial executive order. It will go into effect on Wednesday, October 18, 2017.

Chad, North Korea, and Venezuela are added to the list of banned countries.
No longer on the list is Sudan. EDIT: Chad was removed in 2018.
The remaining banned countries are Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia.

The imposed restrictions differ per country:
– North Korea, Syria: no entry for immigrants and non-immigrants.
– Yemen, Libya: no entry for immigrants as well as for non-immigrants traveling on business and tourist visas.
– Somalia: no entry for immigrants. Non-immigrants will face enhanced screening and vetting requirements.
– Iran: no entry for immigrants and for non-immigrants. Holders of valid student and exchange visitor visas are for now excepted from the ban.
– Venezuela: no entry for certain government officials and their immediate family members on some business and tourist visas.

Currently immigrants and non-immigrants from Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Yemen, Sudan are banned unless they can prove a bona fide relationship with a person or with an entity. Individuals eligible for this exception can apply for a visa until October 18.

The new executive order is not limited time-wise, but “indefinite” and “condition based”.

The order gives Consular Officers the discretion to waive restriction on a case-by-case basis.


Developments on revised executive order

Prez Trump’s revised Executive Order (EO) is set to take effect next week on Thursday, March 16. The new EO bans citizens from 6 countries to travel into the US for 90 days, and bans refugees for 120 days from coming to the US.

The revised EO was released because the previous one was hit by a restraining order, issued by a judge in Washington State.

Washington is now requesting a Federal Judge to rule that the restraining order should also apply to the new EO. Two more states, Oregon and Minnesota, have joined this request.

The State of Hawaii has filed a lawsuit of its own, this one challenges the new EO itself. The judge in Hawaii has set a hearing for Wednesday, March 15.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :