Starting Thursday, May 28, Brazil is added to the list of Suspended Entry Countries because of the risk for COVID-19 transmission.
“The entry into the United States, as immigrants or non-immigrants, of all aliens who were physically present within the Federative Republic of Brazil during the 14-day period preceding, is hereby suspended” announced President Trump on May 24.

As before, the rule does not apply to U.S. citizens and their immediate relatives/family members. It also does not apply to permanent residents of the U.S. Certain categories of non-immigrants are excluded too.
These travelers will be redirected to one of the specially-designated Ports of Entry and are subject to screening. They can be mandated to self-isolate and monitor their health for at least two weeks.

Brazil is the latest addition to the list of countries from which “unrestricted entry would be detrimental to the interests of the U.S.”

On January 31 the White House issued a Proclamation on Suspension of Entry for immigrants and non-immigrants because of the risk of transmitting the 2019 novel coronavirus (COVID-19).
Initially the rule impacted foreign nationals who in the last 14 days before the intended entry into the U.S. traveled in China (excl. Hong Kong and Macau). The rule went into effect in February 2.

Travelers from South Korea were subject to extended screening upon arrival in the U.S.

On February 29 the Suspended Entry Proclamation came into effect for Iran, starting March 2.

On March 11 President Trump announced in a televised speech that all travel from Europe* to America was suspended for 30 days starting March 13.
*The ruling pertained to the border-free Schengen area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.

The written text issued afterwards did not include the 30-day timeline but said the restrictions would “remain in effect until terminated by the President.”

On March 13 the White House issued Proclamation 9994, declaring COVID-19 a National Emergency.

On March 14 the U.K. (excl. overseas territories outside of Europe) and Ireland were added to the Suspended Entry list, effective March 16.

On March 21 all U.S. land border checkpoints with Canada and Mexico were closed to non-essential traffic.